When you open your HDIS sample pack sticking out so that it can’t be missed are two Abri-Form Premuium L4 diapers.  These diapers are easily twice as thick as any other diaper in the pack.  I’ve wore the classic X-plus Abri-form L4 and was blown away by it, by far the best diaper I’ve ever worn.  The time had come to try one of these Premium DIapers.

The Premium is about the same as the X-plus, except it has a cloth cover and different tapes, it has the same thickness, stand up leak guards, and generous fit.  I put on a little rash ointment since I expected to be in these for awhile.  I expected the Premium to have a hook and loop fastener so I didn’t clean my fingers off.  I put the diaper on and realized that an Abena large is probably to big for me, I could probably wear a medium since they are much larger then many brands.  I started to go out for a walk, but noticed one of the tapes wasn’t sticking very well.  I restuck it and left.  When I got back the same tape was not staying stuck to well so I restuck it again and realized that it wasn’t a hook and loop fastener, but a sticky tape with a tiny hook and loop fastener that seemd to do nothing. the sticky part was longer very sticky since I got ointment on it.  I pulled the diaper up as high as it would go and tied my tights very tight underneath it so they were holding it up.  It was barely wet at this point but it was loser then it had been when I put it on.

The cloth backed Abena is very quiet and I could never hear that I had it on.  It’s also pretty thick, I was wearing loose workout shorts and I’m pretty sure no one could see how my rear was a bit puffy, as long as I had a kind of long shirt I wouldn’t be afraid to wear one of these in public, but I’d be a bit apprehensive about bending over, they have a very distinct outline since they are so thick.  The cloth backed diaper is also noticeably more comfortable on a hot day, much less prickly heat and sweat.

I did some work outside and wet a bit more and as expected the Abena doesn’t feel wet even after a 3 wettings.  I decided to really give this a workout so I drank some coffee and water, soon I was like a fountain, and gushing small wettings frequently, I followed every wetting up with another drink.  After about 2 hours it was getting heavy and didn’t want to stay up, the tapes weren’t really staying tight so I used some duct tape and tried to fix it up.  About an hour later I noticed my computer chair was soaked, The duct tape wasn’t staying put and one of the leg gatherers was completely loose allowing pee to flow out.

The Premium will require another test, but it seems like the tapes suck.  They have the cool feature of some elastic where they connect to the rear of the diaper, which should mean you could do them up tight, but mine wouldn’t stay tight, there’s a good chance it was my fault for ruining the tapes.  Even so the Premium cloth backed Abena didn’t swell up like the X-plus does.  Like most cheaper types the wet absorbent material began working its way down the diaper and settled in the crotch, but don’t get me wrong.  It did begin to swell up, it just didn’t stay put, like it does in a baby diaper.

Since I had some time left and I didn’t want to change I grabbed one of my thick home made cloth diapers, and a cloth soaker and pinned them over the Abena, I was still wetting like a fountain and the wettness seemed to spread up the rear of the diaper and really swell out the back.  Last time I wore an Abena the rear padding didn’t even get wet.  I pinned the cloth diaper on very tight and as the Abena continued to absorb and swell I could feel the cloth diaper getting tighter and tighter.  It made for a really fun diaper experience.

HDIS sells the Abena at $2.60 when you buy a 12 pack, and yes that is with shipping, but that’s still far to much in my opinion, especially when you can buy the superior X-plys plastic backed diaper for  much less.  I can’t really pass judgment on the premium until I try the second one and make sure not to foul the tapes.

