nqrbs-re-brief-maximum_bagNext up to review in our HDIS sample pack is the Reassure Maximum brief.  HDIS seems to be the only place selling these and I read that they have them made specifically for them so they seem to push them pretty hard on their website.  If you’ve ever bought drugstore brand diapers you’ll probably roll your eyes when you pull out the Reassure.  It looks almost identical to the prevail brand diapers that many drugstores carry and sell for around ten bucks a pack.  I’ve gone through lots of these, for along time the only place I would buy diapers was a particular drug store that only carried this brand.  Fortunately the Reassure Maximum Brief is not the the same as the super cheapo’s that you get at many drug stores.

The Reassure Maximum has a cloth cover, two hook and loop fasteners with blue cross hatch pattern per side, and is quite a bit thicker then their drug store counterparts.  The large size is a roomy fit but not entirely too big, I could probably wear the medium as well.  There is no waistband and no leak guards, like I said they are constructed exactly like drug store diapers, but have about twice as much absorbent padding.  If you’ve ever worn the drug store brand you might have noticed that after maybe an hour they are loose and about to fall off.  I had pretty much the exact same problem with these, they need to tightened several times.  The good news is that unlike the drug store version these actually can hold a few wettings, though I emphasize a few.

HDIS sells these for just a bit over a dollar a diaper, they are about the third cheapest diaper on their site, only thing cheaper is wings and home choice which I’d say are not as absorbent as these.

I wore this diaper for about 4 hours.  During the first hour I took a walk and never wet the diaper, during the second hour I drank a large glass of water and wet a little bit.  The first few wettings were readily absorbed and the gel inside swelled a bit.  The third hour saw me wet a couple more times.  Probably on the third wetting I could tell that my rear end was getting damp.  I made the mistake of sitting down on the bed and when I got up had left two wet spots on the sheets.  I didn’t feel like I had wet that much for the diaper to be just leaking out like that.  I think one of the biggest problems is that they leg cuffs aren’t elastic enough and don’t adjust tight enough to really make a good seal so the pee just flows right out once the center is soaked.

qrb1By this point all the front padding had fell down and was stuck in the front and the rear padding was starting to get really damp,  Like the Attends the diaper became like wearing a big sack between the legs.  I retaped it even tighter and decided to keep wearing it until I had to go to work.   I placed a folded up towel on my computer chair and did some work, by the 4th hour the towel was soaked and the chair was damp.  The shorts I was wearing were getting soaked as well.  The diaper should have been changed about two hours ago.

One of my favorite things about these types of diapers is that they do have larger fasteners and they can be refastened several times.  If you pull them tight  and place them side by side on the front of the diaper it looks much more like a baby diaper and works just about as well, or as bad.

So I can’t totally knock the Reassure, they aren’t horrible, but once they hit their absorbency limit you’d better change them or expect to have wet pants.  They are actually very similar to wearing a drug store diaper with a baby diaper soaker, except the baby diaper soaker will probably leak less and can be tossed and a new one put in.  Considering you can get like 16 of these for ten dollars at Walgreens and add a Luvs diaper soaker for about 15 cents more per diaper you’d probably be better off.

There is also a Reassure Overnight that I have yet to try, it looks quite a bit thicker and I’m looking forward to testing it.

